PSA:  I might as well start this blog off with my next big advancement in life. About two weeks ago, I had been browsing homes for sale online, and in person around town. After scrutinizing three homes, I figured I’d be residing at mom and dad’s place for my first year of teaching, which I was totally okay with. However, my realtor saw a place that was going on the market and wanted me to look at because of the reasonable price, great location, and minimal repairs. That same evening, I visited the house and instantly saw potential. Needless to say, I made an offer and the next day was starting the home buying process.

After three weeks of e-signing and a constant flow of emails and texts coming through each day, I am gaining excitement every hour. Everything has come together so quickly with this house that I try and remind myself to enjoy the moment and every other positive aspect in my life- like finishing student teaching, preparing for graduation, and building my second grade classroom. I am flourishing with so many positive emotions that I hardly let an hour go by without planning something for my future home, classroom, or the upcoming summer.

With that same thought in mind, I want to gravitate toward the actual point of this blog; Garage Sales.

Let me preface by letting you know, I love garage sales. Whether attending them, or putting on my own- I have loved these mediocre sales. For the last four years, I have had a standing date with the bank in town for the morning shift (8-12). This job has been great and offers many benefits (including time to work on my KPTP {which I finished Saturday!}). The only terrible thing is that I’ve been missing out on the early bird garage sales during the Spring and Summer months. I was lucky enough to have Good Friday off this past weekend so I was able to attend a garage sale in my neighborhood. I found some great stainless steel mixing bowls, large & small pots with lids, and shower curtain hooks. ALL FOR 9$. This small purchase had me so jazzed for my new home and the other garage sales around our little town.

 

After Friday nights purchase, I researched ongoing sales through Saturday afternoon. As soon as noon rolled around at the bank, I was out of there and pampering myself with another sale. I found a crockpot for ONE DOLLAR (have I mentioned how much I love garage sales yet?). I also found a cute decorative domed cake plate along with the bowls, pots, shower essentials, a crockpot, lamps, and a small table- all totaling up to 20$ and not a penny over. See why I was so jazzed?IMG_9211

I’ve already decided to start three DIY projects, one including the small cake plate I bought Friday night at a sale. I will be sure to post my DIY items when they are fully finished. For now I have been documenting my progress through pictures- which I will be sure to show in a later blog.

As for the other aspects of life I recently

Watched– Two weeks ago, the Hallmark Channel did their March Madness tournament bracket of Christmas movies. The winning movie was The Christmas Card. I had never seen that movie, so I made sure to set my TV for recording when the movie aired. After recorded, I started watching it, fell in love- like Hallmark movies generally make me do, and then was in the Christmas spirit, so I started watching another Christmas movie from Hallmark; Twelve Gifts of Christmas. Both are great movies and I’ve already marked in my planner the Fall kickoff of Hallmarks Christmas season.

Listened- Finally after months of Twenty-One Pilots, I switched my playlist to a more summer-like feel. The new band I will recommend is Circa Waves. This band offers a fun, upbeat style of music that reminds you of those summer days spent at the pool or beach.

I will most definitely be keeping you posted on my DIY projects, final days of student teaching, graduation, second grade classroom prep, and most importantly, My NEW HOME.

With Love,

Els

 

p.s- After having this draft done for about 4 days, I actually was able to finish one DIY project. Here is my converted miniature dome cake plate. I painted the original wood white to go with anything. My plan is to use this plate as a decor piece with existing cake plates I have. I randomly dug through a spare closet with other holiday decor to just show my plans for this piece.

 

 

