During my Spring Break, weeks and weeks ago, I was driven to better my eating and working out decisions. To prepare for the week ahead, I made sure to have salad ingredients, smoothies, and healthy snacks on hand. Each day I would plan out what I was going to eat and snack on to ensure I was following my list and making the healthy choice. Along with eating right, I wanted to workout and attempt to start a routine for the weeks following Spring Break.

For the entirety of my break, I followed my planned meals and eliminated unhealthy snacking. I was so proud of what I had accomplished  that I was actually excited for the challenge for the upcoming week. Yet, as that time approached, and now weeks later, I have somewhat slumped back into my unhealthy lifestyle. I make excuses more than I should, but it is easier said than done to prepare lunches for my school day. Between going back and forth from my home to staying with my Aunt during student teaching throughout the week, my food supply is limited. I take and pack what I can find around the kitchen.

Proud as I am that I have limited myself from the sugary snacks, I still haven’t broken my habit of snacking “just because”. You all know the habit of opening the fridge and cupboards exactly when you get home-even though you aren’t hungry at all. Well that’s me for sure. My BFF/cousin had a recipe she shared with me that was a “healthier granola bar snack” made with lots of nutritional goodies and substitutes that fill you up with 1/2 cup of protein. I have found that these delicious bars make an excellent snack that can even act as a meal replacement bar.

Now if you’re like me, most healthy recipes are a turn off. I’ve tried those whole wheat flour donuts and cookies, but haven’t found a “keeper” recipe, so as skeptical as I was, I bought the ingredients and tried my own take of the recipe. However, midway through making and mixing everything, I realized I was shorthanded on my oats- which I used maple brown sugar oatmeal for. Before I share my experience let me share the recipe with you first.

Protein Power Up Bars- BBF.com

I altered my ingredients a tad more my own taste preferences, but the BBF recipe online is uploaded above.

Ingredients

1/2 Cup LIVfit Superfood® plant protein- or any kind of protein powder (I’ve used pb powder/vanilla/chocolate kinds)

1 Cup BBF organic agave (Walmart/Target have blue agave which I used)

1 Cup BBF organic virgin coconut oil (any will work)

2 tsp kosher salt

1/2 c Peanut Butter

4 Cup rolled oats

1 Cup shredded coconut, unsweetened

1 Cup dried fruit, chopped (I prefer dried cranberries)

1/2 Cup pumpkin seeds

1/4 Cup chia Seeds

Directions

• In a hi-speed blender or food processor, combine LIVfit Superfood® Plant Protein almonds, agave, melted coconut oil, and salt. Blend Until smooth.
• In a large bowl, combine PBfit® with oats, shredded coconut, dried fruit, pumpkin and chia seeds. Stir agave almond mixture into dry ingredients.
• Spread mixture into lined pan. Cover top with wax paper and press evenly to compact. Slice into small bars.

 

I’m in love with these bars and after exploring the BetterBodyFoods website, I’ve already bookmarked the website for more recipes to try. From scripting my thoughts just through the duration of this blog, I’ve already talked myself into buying more BBF products. Looking into the PBFit powder now (it’s a substitute for real peanut butter with 1/3 less fat).

These truly are YUMMY treats that everyone should try at least once. I have been using these bars as my substitute for my midnight cravings and thus far have quenched that craving. Go be adventurous and try these goodies!

With Love,

Els

